Hello world!

Welcome to WordPress.com! This is my very first post. Happy blogging!

Do you remember ‘Hello world‘? It seems like it was the very first piece of text we learned how to program in practically every single programming language. The other phrase which was used and I had to practice in Typing class at Yarmouth High School, is ‘The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog‘. Why this 2nd phrase? Notice that every letter of the alphabet is used in those 9 words. 🙂

Greetings. I’m Steve. I’m a Geek. I’m an extreme sports fanatic. I’ve been an Architect and a yacht captain. I’m a parent. I’ve had 62 jobs, and countless sports injuries. I like to think I’m funny. I have a great tan most of the year and I’m here to talk about some fun stories that have happened to me since I sat down with the Apple II in 1979, which was about the same time that I got my First and Last video game console, Intellivision. My grammar is almost perfect, but until I find a WordPress widget to check my grammar, I have to write these stories in MS Word for the free spell and grammar check. UPDATE: Just found the setting in wordpress to do this for me.

Please check out my blog, my Twitter posts, and look in on my Facebook pages occasionally. This is my first dive into the world of social/viral marketing and the books say that I have to make a presence and establish myself as an expert in my field…. (Geez, I thought 70k hours was enough). Yes, I have a goal to make money to support my family, but my drive does come from creating something great for my child to play with. In order to create this business, I need to raise funds, via selling the apps. I’ve gone the Kickstarter and VC/Angel route, but they weren’t for me, but writing about my life actually turned out to be tons of fun.

More posts to come today…

Cheers, Steve.

Disclaimer: All posts are based upon my perceptions. If any of the parties in the post have a different viewpoint, please contact me or comment below. These are just my memories.

About steve@genzplay

Based in Sonoma Valley, California, GenZplay was founded in August 2011 by Steve Calhoun to make video games a physically active part of his son’s outdoor life. The company is focused on integrating gaming mechanics with everyday activities, especially those that need a mixture of fun and adventure to motivate and inspire. Follow GenZPlay at facebook.com/genzplay or Twitter @genzplay.

Posted on October 17, 2012, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

